Dear A&E,

Today I’m going to show you something that I didn’t actually design or build – though I did help with some of the details. This is a massive English-style church built by my friend Jack, who called himself Theoric in the game.

2011-07-01_13.43.02

When I first saw it, the outside framework was already nearly finished – he had been working hard for several hours. I think I helped him fill in the ‘gaps’ and complete some of the details, like the window at the back.

2011-07-02_12.11.44

This was before Minecraft had different colours of glass, so we used wool with glass in front of it. I liked how it looked at night, with all the windows glowing in the snow.

2011-07-08_23.19.31

Unfortunately, I didn’t take any pictures of what was inside the church, but Jack had decorated the whole thing with wooden pews, aisles, beautiful carpets, and various other churchy paraphernalia.

2011-07-06_19.05.11

The scale of the building was really enormous! It was visible for miles around and really dominated the landscape. I wonder if you’ll notice it in the background when I show you pictures of some of the other things we built in this same world?

Love from Uncle Chas

